June 23, 2024

Women’s Final Four coming to San Antonio in 2029

It is great honor to hear the announcement on Monday, November 21, 2022. The NCAA’s Division 1 Women’s Basketball Committee announced that San Antonio has been selected for the NCAA Women’s Final Four in 2029. Our beautiful city had been among five cities to host the major basketball games between 2027 through 2031. Those cities are: Columbus, OH at Nationwide Arena in 2027; Indianapolis, IN at Gainbridge Fieldhouse in 2028; Portland, OR at the Moda Center in 2030 and in Dallas, TX at the American Airlines Center in 2031.

Our very own University of Texas at San Antonio and University of the Incarnate Word will share hosting duties for the event as well as the San Antonio Sports, a non-profit organization.

“We’re thrilled to team up with our friends at San Antonio Sports and UIW to bring yet another premier NCAA sporting event to our great city,” said UTSA Vice President for Intercollegiate Athletics Lisa Campos. “San Antonio is a wonderful location to host the Women’s Final Four because of the first-class hospitality and experience of our host organizations, the City of San Antonio and the Alamodome. We can’t wait to come together as one team and execute a thrilling event in 2029.”

“The Women’s Final Four is the premier women’s basketball event in the country, and it’s exciting to see the unprecedented amount of interest from cities to host in the future,” said Lisa Peterson, chair of the committee and senior associate commissioner for sports management with the Pac-12 Conference. “The committee appreciates all the cities involved in the highly competitive bid process. When we crown a national champion in the selected cities, our student-athletes, coaches and fans will have enjoyed an amazing championship experience.”

San Antonio isn’t a stranger when it comes to major national events like these. We’ve previously hosted the NCAA Women’s Final Four three times already. Back in 2002, 2010 and 2021. In 2021, due to the COVID-19 pandemic San Antonio hosted the entire 63-game NCAA Division 1 Women’s Basketball Championship in a controlled environment.